Basics: office hygiene

Hygiene, according to the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology’s definition, is the “Science of the prevention of sickness and the maintenance, support and stabilization of good health”. This includes preemptive measures against infection such as cleaning, disinfection, sterilization and quarantining. Currently, clinical data on the subject evinces some alarming numbers. According to recent research by the National Reference Center for the Surveillance of Nosocomial Infections, around 3.5 percent of patients in German hospitals become infected during their time there. Thus circa 400,000 to 600,000 infections per year, of which 7,500 to 15,000 patients die. Bacteria such as Escherichia Coli, Staphylococcus Aureus or Enterococci, which thrive in every human’s skin and intestinal tract, can cause inflammation, bladder infections, respiratory tract infections or even pulmonary infection when the immune system is compromised. If these pathogens enter the bloodstream, life-threatening toxicity can occur. (1)

20 to 30 percent of nosocomial infections and fatalities could be avoided through the maintenance of an accredited hygienic regimen. The problem is further complicated by the fact that many infections occurring in hospitals are likely to be caused by pathogens which are resistant to antibiotics, and are thus nearly impossible to treat. (2). Preemptive hygienic measures are, literally, of vital importance.

REISS SmartClean

Download REISS SmartClean.pdf
REISS SmartClean
PDF, 296.5 KiB

Contact
Phone: + 4935341 48-360
Fax: +49 35341 48-368
E-Mail: info@reiss-bueromoebel.de

Hybau+ Structural Hygiene in the Hospital: a Joint Project

Independent of the various administrative hurdles in the German hospital system and the flawed implementation of the Infection Protection Act, representatives of the scientific community, industry and clinical practice have come together to address the dangers of infection from another angle. The goal of their research is the development of hygienic, structural-functional processes and the optimal application of hygienic materials in all clinical environments. To this end, structural, technical and facilitative requirements must be outlined which lead to the “avoidance and minimization of the dangers of infection via physical contact with the various surfaces in patient and visitor areas”.

The research team conjoins the three disciplines of facility design, hygiene planning and material science. An experienced research team consisting of hospital trustees, manufacturers, planners and furniture producers is also involved. (3)

Members of the HYBAU+ Join Project include:

  • The Institute for Industrial Construction and Constructive Design
  • The Institute for Building Materials, Solid Construction and Fire Protection
  • The Institute for Hygiene and Environmental Medicine
  • Braunschweig Technical University

Representatives of Industry:

  • Kusch+Co
  • Odenwald Fiberboard Company
  • REISS Office Furniture
  • Resopal
  • Vorwerk & Co
  • Franz Kaldewei
  • Meiko Mechanical Engineering
  • Objectmöbel-concept
  • Saint-Gobain
  • Sana Clinics
  • Schön Clinics
  • Braunschweig City Clinic
  • Schweitzer & Partner Architects
  • Tarkett Holding
  • German Copper Institute Professional Association
The Office as Danger Zone

Health facilities are, by nature, prone to a heightened amount of risk when it comes to the spread of germs. However: “Germs can thrive anywhere people are, including for example on the objects with which they come in contact: the handrails on the metro, doorknobs, computers, telephones. Objects which are used by many people during the course of the day are particularly susceptible to germs”, says Dr. Ernst Tabori, a hygiene and environmental medicine specialist. (4)

In addition, every human being is already a carrier for up to 2 kilograms of microbes. These germs are not evenly distributed over the body; the mouth cavity holds relatively few, the digestive tract an exorbitant amount. Yet virtually no surface of the skin is free of these tiny free-loaders. They occupy mucous membranes, scalp and fingertips… and wherever a person should idle, a microbial footprint is left behind. (5)

It follows that the presence of most microbes found in office environments stem from human carriers. Their presence is increased exponentially when sick colleagues decide to show up for work, transforming the office into a virtual marketplace for infectious germs. Many employees feel compelled to come to work with a cough or runny nose simply to prove that they are, in fact, unwell. The problem multiplies when: “This behavior is emulated by other colleagues, leading to more workspace illness and hence more employees missing more workdays”, notes the infectologist. According to Tabori, this is a sign of an evolving corporate culture. Staying home when indisposed through sickness must not only be allowed, but encouraged. “This will spare the firm countless nonproductive workdays”. Just how long a pathogen can survive on an object’s surface is difficult to measure. Noroviruses, in favorable conditions, can live up to 14 days, and some bacterial spores can survive as long as a year. “The influenza virus, the true flu pathogen, stays infectious longest when kept the coolest”, says Tabori. Kept at a room temperature of 20 degrees Celsius, however, the virus can become dormant within two to eight hours.

In light of this, it should come as a surprise that simple and effective hygienic measures are not often implemented: efficient hand-washing (30 seconds), restriction of workstation eating, the regular cleaning of (especially multi-user) workplace objects, timely replacement of hand towels and other linens, adequate ventilation etc.

REISS office furniture is developed to encourage health, hygiene and productivity during office hours. This is one of the reasons REISS took part in the HYBAU+ Project. Just as REISS has offered ergonomically optimal workstations through the innovation of its Stand-Sit workstations, REISS will now continue its pioneering work to include protection from infectious disease in the work environment.

Favorite dwelling-places for microbes

Coffee mugs
Under no circumstances should you use the previous day’s mug: 866 bacteria per square centimeter could be waiting for you on its surface. This makes it 37 times more infiltrated than your toilet seat!

Telephone
Around 1600 bacteria are following your calls. A similar area on your toilet’s scrub brush can hold a mere 60.

Women’s purses
A very dark place, with a toilet-scrubber factor of 19.

Desks
Not only do 14 times as many microbes occur here as on a toilet seat, but their variety of up to 500 types is much greater.

Elevator call buttons
Taking the stairs is healthier. One push of an elevator’s call button, and you have one hundred tiny new friends. That’s 10 times as many as you’ll find on the toilet seat. (6)(7)

1 Reader’s Digest 11/12 Anke Nolte When the Hospital Makes you Sick
2 National Health Ministry 2011-03 Infection Protection Law
3 www.tu-braunschweig.de/iike/forschung/gesundheitsbau/hy
4 Pharmaceutical Review 21.01.2016
5 South German Times 31.05. 2012 Katrin Blawat Germs in the Workplace
6 Frauenzimmer.de 10.08.2016 Germs in the Office
7 Stern.de 4.10.2015 Germs in the Office

REISS SmartClean

Workstations

REISS SmartClean

REISS office furniture with SmartClean: Infection prevention for every workplace.

Do you wish more information? Please call us: +49 35341 48-360. We know how to create offices.

Hygiene im Büro: Grundlagen

Hygiene ist nach einer Definition der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Hygiene und Mikrobiologie die „Lehre von der Verhütung von Krankheiten und der Erhaltung, Förderung und Festigung der Gesundheit“. Sie umfasst Maßnahmen zur Vorbeugung gegen Infektionskrankheiten, wie Reinigung, Desinfektion, Sterilisation oder Quarantäne.

Gerade aus dem klinischen Bereich kommen in letzter Zeit immer alarmierendere Zahlen. Nach aktuellen Daten des Nationalen Referenzzentrums für Surveillance von nosokomialen Infekten ziehen sich rund 3,5 Prozent der Krankenhauspatienten in Deutschland während ihres Klinikaufenthalts eine Infektion zu. D.h. etwa 400.000 bis 600.000 Krankenhausinfektionen im Jahr, an denen 7.500 bis 15.000 Patienten sterben. Bakterien wie Escherichia coli, Staphylococcus aureus oder Enterokokken, die bei jedem Menschen auf der Haut und im Darm siedeln, verursachen bei geschwächter Immunabwehr Wundinfektionen, Blasenentzündungen und Atemwegsinfekte bis hin zur Lungenentzündung. Gelangen diese Erreger ins Blut, droht eine lebensgefährliche Vergiftung.(1)

20 bis 30 % dieser nosokomialen Infektionen und Todesfälle wären durch eine bessere Einhaltung von bekannten Regeln der Infektionshygiene vermeidbar. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass viele der Krankenhausinfektionen durch Erreger verursacht werden, die gegen Antibiotika resistent und deshalb kaum zu behandeln sind.(2) Vorbeugende hygienische Maßnahmen sind hier im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes von lebenswichtiger Bedeutung.

REISS SmartClean

Die Datei REISS SmartClean.pdf herunterladen
REISS SmartClean
PDF, 440,8 KiB

Kontakt
Telefon: + 4935341 48-360
Fax: +49 35341 48-368
E-Mail: info@reiss-bueromoebel.de

Gemeinschaftsprojekt Hybau+ Bauliche Hygiene im Krankenhaus

Unabhängig von den administrativen Hürden in deutschen Gesundheitseinrichtungen und der mangelhaften Umsetzung des Infektionsschutzgesetzes haben sich Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, der Industrie und dem Klinikbereich zusammengefunden, um die Infektionsgefahr von anderer Seite zu bekämpfen. Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens sind hygienesichere baulich-funktionale Abläufe sowie der optimale Einsatz hygienesicherer Materialien im Krankenhaus. Damit sollen u.a. die baulichen, technischen und ausstattungsseitigen Voraussetzungen geschaffen werden, die zur „Vermeidung und Minimierung der Gefahr von Keimübertragung durch Berührung von unmittelbaren Kontaktflächen im Patienten- und Besucherbereich“ beitragen.

Das Forschungsteam vereint die drei Disziplinen Gebäudegestaltung, Hygieneplanung und Materialkunde. Beteiligt ist zudem ein praxisstarkes Forschungsteam aus Krankenhausträgern, Baustoff- und Materialherstellern sowie Planern und Objektmöbelhersteller.(3)

An dem HYBAU+ Gemeinschaftsprojekt beteiligen sich u.a.:

  • Institut für Industriebau und konstruktives Entwerfen (IIKE)
  • Institut für Baustoffe, Massivbau und Brandschutz (iBMB Mpa)
  • Institut für Hygiene und Umweltmedizin (Charité Berlin)
  • TU Braunschweig

Vertreter der Industrie:

  • Kusch+Co GmbH & Co. KG
  • Odenwald Faserplattenwerk GmbH
  • REISS Büromöbel GmbH
  • Resopal GmbH
  • Vorwerk & Co KG
  • Franz Kaldewei GmbH & Co. KG
  • Meiko Maschinenbau GmbH & Co. KG
  • Objectmöbel-concept UG
  • Saint-Gobain AG
  • Sana Kliniken AG
  • Schön Kliniken GmbH
  • Städtisches Klinikum Braunschweig
  • Architektengruppe Schweitzer & Partner
  • Tarkett Holding GmbH
  • Deutsches Kupferinstitut Berufsverband e.V.
Gefahrenzone Büro

Natürlich sind Gesundheitseinrichtungen prädestiniert für das erhöhte Auftreten von Keimen aber: „Keime können überall sein, wo sich Menschen aufhalten, zum Beispiel auf Gegenständen, die sie berühren: die Haltestangen in der U-Bahn, Türklinken, Computer, Telefone. Gerade auf Gegenständen, die von mehreren benutzt werden, sammeln sich viele Keime", sagt Dr. Ernst Tabori, Facharzt für Hygiene und Umweltmedizin.(4)

Immerhin „trägt“ jeder Mensch nach Hochrechnungen bis ca. 2 Kilogramm an Mikroben mit sich herum. Die Keime sind zwar nicht überall gleich dicht auf dem Körper verteilt - in der Mundhöhle etwa leben vergleichsweise wenige, im Darm hingegen besonders viele. Doch kaum ein Hautstückchen ist gänzlich frei von den winzigen Mitbewohnern. Sie besiedeln Nasenschleimhäute, Kopfhaut und Fingerkuppen - und wo der Mensch sich aufhält, da hinterlässt er Spuren in Form von Mikroben.(5)

Deshalb stammen auch die meisten der in Büros gefundenen Mikroben vom Menschen. Das wird besonders gefährlich wenn Mitarbeiter krank zur Arbeit kommen, denn dann wird das Büro zu einem regelrechten Umschlagplatz für infektiöse Keime. Viele gehen trotz Husten und Schnupfen zur Arbeit, nur um zu zeigen, dass sie auch wirklich krank sind. Das Problem dabei: "Dieses Verhalten wird von anderen kopiert, wodurch sich noch mehr Mitarbeiter anstecken und ausfallen", sagt der Infektiologe. Laut Tabori geht es hier auch um einen Wandel in der Unternehmenskultur. Bei Krankheit zu Hause zu bleiben müsse als verantwortungsbewusstes Handeln eingestuft und gefördert werden. "Denn unterm Strich erspart es dem Unternehmen viele krankheitsbedingte Fehltage." Wie lange Krankheitserreger auf Gegenständen überleben, ist schwer zu sagen. So können Noroviren unter geeigneten Bedingungen bis zu 14 Tage überdauern – manche Sporen von Bakterien sogar Jahre. "Bei Influenza-Viren, den Erregern der echten Grippe, gilt: Je kühler es ist, desto länger bleiben sie infektiös", sagt Tabori. Bei einer Raumtemperatur von 20 Grad Celsius werden sie innerhalb von zwei bis maximal acht Stunden inaktiviert.

Umso verwunderlicher ist es, das einfache und doch wirksame Hygienemaßnahmen nicht angewendet werden: korrektes (30s) Händewaschen, kein Essen am Arbeitsplatz, regelmäßiges Abwischen aller, insbesondere gemeinsam genutzen Büro-Gegenstände, kurzfristiges Wechseln der Putz- Hand und Trockentücher, ausreichende Belüftung usw.

Die von REISS entwickelten Büromöbel sind so angelegt das sie Gesundheit und Leistungsfähigkeit während des Arbeitsprozesses unterstützen und fördern. Auch deshalb hat sich REISS an dem Projekt HYBAU + beteiligt. Während mit den Steh-Sitz-Tischen von REISS schon ergonomisch optimale Arbeitsplätze geschaffen werden konnten, werden REISS Produkte in Zukunft auch den Schutz vor Infektionen am Arbeitsplatz bieten.

Beliebte Treffpunkte für Mikroben

Kaffeetasse
Auf keinen Fall die Tasse vom Vortag: Da warten 866 Bakterien pro Quadratzentimeter auf Sie. Damit ist die Kaffeetasse 37 Mal so besiedelt wie ein Toilettensitz!

Telefon
Rund 1600 Bakterien verfolgen hier Ihre Anrufe. Auf der vergleichbaren Fläche einer Klobrille sitzen nur 60.

Damenhandtasche
Mit einem Klobrillen-Faktor von 19 ein sehr dunkler Ort.

Schreibtisch
Hier siedeln nicht nur 14 Mal mehr als auf einem Toilettensitz, sondern die Vielfalt ist mit 500 Arten von Mikroben auch beträchtlich höher.

Fahrstuhlknopf
Treppe laufen ist gesünder. Denn einmal auf den Knopf gedrückt und Sie haben gleich hunderte neuer Freunde. 10 Mal mehr als auf einem Toilettensitz.(6)(7)

1 Readers Digest 11/12 Anke Nolte Wenn das Krankenhaus krank macht
2 Bundesministerium für Gesundheit 2011-03 Infektionsschutzgesetz
3 www.tu-braunschweig.de/iike/forschung/gesundheitsbau/hy
4 Apotheken Umschau 21.01.2016
5 Süddeutsche Zeitung 31.05. 2012 Katrin Blawat Keime am Arbeitsplatz
6 Frauenzimmer.de 10.08.2016 Keime im Büro
7 Stern.de 4.10.2015 Keime im Büro

 

REISS SmartClean

Arbeitsplätze

REISS SmartClean

REISS Büromöbel mit SmartClean Ausstattung: Zuverlässiger Schutz vor Infektionen am Arbeitsplatz.

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden. Weiterlesen …